Home » Poetry » NINETEEN

NINETEEN

Daffodils on the roadside - Photo credit - friend on Facebook [KB]

Daffodils on the roadside – Photo credit – friend on Facebook [KB]

Daffodils

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

William Wordsworth
This is perhaps the first poem I read by William Wordsworth and it has stayed with me forever, he is one of my favorite poets. The education in Literature has provided me with the opportunity to look more closely at his poems and his life, in fact that is one of the primary reasons for my choosing to study literature. I wanted to learn more about my favorite poets and authors and read their other works. It is my great privilege to have studied at one of the Best University. The Department of English of my University enabled me to read, learn, understand, think for myself ,build my own opinions when it came to literary works. As a part of a new category I would love to share some of the well known, famous and my favorite poems with my readers. This is the first of the many posts to come. And I begin with the most haunting poem I read when I was in school.
The main reason why the poem haunts me is when I had read it as a child I was completely in awe of these flowers which the poet described. As a child who had never seen Daffodils it was fun and at the same time difficult to imagine the flowers. It much later when I had access to the world wide web that I was able to find a picture of the Daffodils and frankly that moment made me catch my breathe. They were more beautiful that anything I had ever imagined.
I prefaced the poem here with a photograph taken by a friend visiting UK. I share the photograph with permission and due credit. The flowers still make me smile. The poem still makes me feel good. Wordsworth meant a lot to me, I am glad I haven’t lost my love for him even after being part of the Corporate Rat race.
Tell me which is your absolute favorite poem, and I would love to share it with all the readers.
THE END.
Reference Sources: Wikipedia, Poemhunter
Would like to hear your opinion, please comment

