Home » Opinion » TWENTY SEVEN

TWENTY SEVEN

The moment I had stepped into the Domestic Terminal of the city airport, I knew this trip was going to prove to be the most relaxed trip and perhaps the most fruitful of all my trips since last year. The reason for it being a relaxing trip was I had no agenda chalked out for this trip. I had no plans, no schedules, no commitments to keep. I was free from everything, I was free from my own expectations. They seem to be the biggest hurdle to our happiness, which is my personal observation. The trip would also be a a creative break because although the new city has given me time to indulge in my writing, it is my home city which fuels my creative upsurge, As I sat squeezed in between two well behaved but very broad men in my middle seat of the flight, I dreamt of the posts I would write, the incidents, the opinions triggered by them, the need to vent mostly, some purely judgmental stuff, others overload of opinion. 

My thoughts have been on the fence when it came to the disappearance of the MH370 and I have neither written about it nor felt comfortable voicing any opinion on my blog. In fact, the truth is I have restricted myself away from  any controversial topics. But the fact is I am not a person who is shy of voicing my thought. Yet for some reason I have kept the current blog impersonal, almost like this whitewashed image of me, so I come across as this very different person than I really am. There is a lot of my persona in the blog and it’s content yet, my writing has been only an academic exercise and not writing without reigns.

And since this is a venture which I am really devoting my time to, it is important that I add something, a little more personal, to this. Be it a controversial topic like the disappearance of MH370. The day the news broke about the disappearance of the flight I was ready to believe the initial speculation of the media about a terrorist activity or a horrible mid air catastrophe. As the days passed and there was no trace of it, my mind turned to the TV series by ABC, LOST. It aired from September 22, 2004 to May 23, 2010, over six seasons which contained a total of 121 episodes. This has a similar case of a commercial passenger jet Oceanic Airlines Flight 815, flying between Sydney and Los Angeles, disappearing, all passengers, assumed dead, survivors of the crash end up on a mysterious tropical island somewhere in the South Pacific Ocean, from which they can’t seem to find a way out.

The story is told in a heavily serialized manner. Episodes typically feature a primary storyline on the island, as well as a secondary storyline from another point in a character’s life. Lost was created by Jeffrey Lieber, J. J. Abrams and Damon Lindelof who share story-writing credits for the pilot episode, which Abrams directed. Due to its large ensemble cast and the cost of filming primarily on location in Oahu, Hawaii, the series was one of the most expensive on television. A critically acclaimed and popular success, Lost has been consistently ranked by critics on their lists of the top ten television series of all time. 

As the search for MH370 led the rescue teams everywhere across the World’s Ocean, I wondered whether the passengers of the ill fated flight were surviving on some uninhabited island, unable to communicate with the rest of the world. As the final declaration of the loss of the flight was declared to the world media, I quietly hoped for the passengers to be alive on a tropical island somewhere, from which they would one day return after many years and cause a worldwide frenzy. Hope springs eternal in the Human heart, does it not? Even in the smallest of events around us, we see signs. So, why not believe in this story?

THE END.

Reference Source: Wikipedia

Would like to hear your opinion, please comment

