Home » Confession » THIRTY SIX

THIRTY SIX

I have to admit I am not a fan of Game of Thrones.  They say it’s the next Lord of the Rings. I am a FAN of The Lord of the Rings and that’s why I find it difficult to accept this new series as the ultimate in fantasy fiction.

A confession is due here, I went ahead and ordered the entire series before even reading an excerpt, basing my purchase decision on reviews and cheap discounted pricing.

So I started reading the books. I completed book 1. I proceeded to book 2. I faultered there. I picked it up again. Eventually, unlike myself, I abandoned the series. This happened long before the fabled Tv Series of Game of thrones.

The series of books sat pretty in the my drawing room display case, untouched, till last year my cousin  brother saw them and the tone of delight in his voice made me realize that here was a true fan of the series. I asked him whether he owned the books. Since he didn’t and was obviously more appreciative of the writing and the story,  I asked him to take the entire set with him.

I am glad I did that, because books are meant to be read and appreciated, and not just gather dust and grow mouldy.

I have 5 or 6 such books  either bought under insufficient information or received as gifts from folks who had gifted me a book just because they know I am a bibliophile (I mean bookworm). These books sit in my bookcase, in their original wrapping waiting to be read. I am yet to find someone who will love them as I love books.

2 thoughts on “THIRTY SIX

Would like to hear your opinion, please comment

