Home » Blogging » SIXTY SIX

SIXTY SIX

NaBloPoMo Day 2

How do you get your news right now? How does it differ from 10 years ago?

With time the way we receive news has evolved, in fact the change has more to do with developments of technology in media as well as in communication. I make a distinction because in media there was a wide gap of decades between the invention of radio, when one heard the news, then came the Television. These were predated by the Newspaper, the chronicler of our times, that’s how I see them. Although newspapers have evolved with time and not necessarily to my liking but the coming of communication revolution with the internet at our finger tips drastically changed the way news came to us. It came to us through electronic mail and websites, then it came to us on our smartphone through news related apps. But if you really put your head down and think about it where are we getting this news from? Has the source changed? 10 years ago we read about war in Afghanistan, the fall of the Twin Towers, the Football World Cup, the break up of Jennifer Aniston and Brad Pitt. You get the picture? We got the news from our entertainment , current affairs, finance, world news journalists, writing and broadcasting on air. But now it’s different. What is this difference? This difference is now in the way the news is delivered to the audience. These are a few points where I find my experience of receiving news has changed over the years:

  1. Ease: I can access news with more ease than before. Whereas before I was limited by few mediums of news.
  2. Variety of mediums: I can pick and choose the way I get my news, on paper, through TV, on my smartphone or my laptop,
  3. Time: There is no constraint on the time when I can access the news, It is available 24×7.
  4. Choice: Although this point does become redundant in someways, the fact is now I can choose what stories are displayed to me. So, I can choose to ignore the news I have no interest in.

Social media has played the biggest part in ensuring news reaches everyone but has that made any difference to the ignorant? No. So, even today I have to explain to a 30 year old man who Lance Armstrong is. You see the social media revolution has opened up the world to us but what one must realize even though the doors may be open, not every one walks out and even if they do, not everyone learns from that experience. While Social media has helped me know more about world entertainment, sports, fashion and the literary world it has probably left the “frogs of the well” happily posting selfies.

There was a time when I was told to read at least 2 newspapers everyday, to improve my current affairs knowledge and writing skills and what note, the old world solution to given to all students, read a newspaper. I never really liked reading the news, nor watching it primarily because it was all too tedious and boring, And than feeling hasn’t changed even in this day and age of easily available news. But i feel like advising the people I meet to at least read a little news online, news beyond their small boundaries of country, community or religion. The social media has also made it easy for people to comment on every new item they read and some of these comments are also alarming. Now I know what other’s think about something that’s in the news and the hatered and negativity that is breeding in people’s mind is so evident, that it scares me.

New delivery has changed but I an still wondering whether it has made more positive changes and contribution to human knowledge and understanding.

THE END.

Would like to hear your opinion, please comment

